EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage)

Every child deserves the best possible start to life and support to fulfil their potential.

A child’s experience in the early years has a major impact on their future life chances.

The aim of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is to help young children achieve the five "Every Child Matters" outcomes of ...

  • staying safe
  • being healthy
  • enjoying and achieving
  • making a positive contribution
  • achieving economic well-being.

The EYFS is based on 4 important themes which are underpinned by a principle.

These are:

  • A Unique child
    Principle .. Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Positive Relationships
    Principle .. Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.
  • Enabling Environments
    Principle .. the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.
  • Learning & Development
    Principle .. children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. All areas of learning and development are equally important and interconnected.

The EYFS means that wherever your child is being cared for or educated between 0-5 years they will be following the same set of principles.

They will be offered a principled play based approach to learning and development.

Young children learn best through play and learning experiences for their stage of development and help them develop new skills.

The activities that are provided for young children will underpin the skills they need to work towards the early learning goals in the following areas:

  • Communication, language and literacy
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Problem solving, reasoning and numeracy
  • Creative development
  • Physical development
  • Knowledge and understanding of the world

All areas are of equal importance and many activities will cover many of the areas.

Each area is divided up into stages of development and we are able to identify resources and learning opportunities for individual children dependent on their developmental needs.

Objectives ...

Social and Emotional Development ...

To encourage a sense of security and self confidence in each child and to encourage communication and cooperation with other children and adults.

Physical Development

To develop fine motor movements involved in drawing, cutting, writing and other manipulative activities.
To develop gross motor movements, throwing, jumping, skipping, hopping, balancing and gymnastic movements.

Moral Development

To create a climate of understanding and practice in working out what is right and wrong. To be fair and sensitive in the correction of unacceptable behaviour and to value each child so they develop good personal values.

Intellectual Development ...


To develop language skills through stories, rhymes, poems, talking, listening, imaginative play and drama.


To develop an awareness of shape, space, logic, money, measurement and number concepts through practical activities of counting, weighing, measuring, sand and water play.

Science and Technology

1. To develop an interest in finding out about plants, animals and materials through first hand experiences.
2. To foster curiosity and an interest in finding out how things work.
3. To develop an interest in technology through computers and technological toys.


To develop an interest in art through working with a variety of materials, chalk, paint, clay, pastels, dough, cardboard, glue, pasta, fabrics and crayons
To develop an interest in music through singing, dancing, percussion and other activities involving making music.

Web Design by M Porton. Website construction by Quayharbour